• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is a citizen's group established by City Charter Section 3.8 to advise the City Council on a broad range of planning issues to ensure that all plans, goals, policies, and development regulations are promoting orderly and coordinated growth and development within the city.


Duties and Responsibilities

Pursuant to Tacoma Municipal Code Chapter 13.02, the Planning Commission:
  • Develops and updates the Comprehensive Plan and its elements
  • Formulates effective and efficient land use and development regulations and processes that implement the Comprehensive Plan
  • Reviews various planning issues, such as area-wide rezones, temporary zoning measures (such as a moratorium or interim regulations), annexation, historic district designation, urban design, and transportation and capital facilities programs


The Planning Commission has nine members, who shall be residents of the City of Tacoma and be appointed and confirmed by the City Council for terms of three years each. One member shall be appointed by the Council for each of the five council districts. The Council shall appoint to the four remaining positions an individual from each of the following: (a) the development community; (b) the environmental community; (c) public transportation; and (d) a designee with background of involvement in architecture, historic preservation, and/or urban design. Planning Commission members serve without pay.


Current Membership

  • Council District 1 - Andrew Strobel
  • Council District 2 - Dorian Waller 
  • Council District 3 - Brett Santhuff
  • Council District 4 - Stephen Wamback (Chair) 
  • Council District 5 - David Horne
  • Development Community - Jeff McInnis
  • Environmental Community - Anna Petersen (Vice-Chair)
  • Public Transportation - Carolyn Edmonds 
  • Architecture, Historic Preservation and/or Urban Design - Ryan Givens 


Additional Information

  • Planning Commission Information Sheet 
  • Planning Commission Rules and Regulations (Bylaws)
  • Planning Commission Work Program 2018-2020
  • Planning Commission Annual Report for 2017-2018
  • Planning Commission Annual Report for 2016-2017

    Staff Support

    Staffing support to the Planning Commission is provided by the Planning Services Division of the Planning and Development Services Department

    Time and Day

    5 PM
    First and third Wednesday of each month


    Location for Regular Meetings:

    Room 16

    Tacoma Municipal Building North
    733 Market Street
    Tacoma, WA 98402


    Location for Public Hearings:

    Council Chambers

    Tacoma Municipal Building

    747 Market Street

    Tacoma, WA 98402


    Additional Information

    Staff Liaison: 

    Lihuang Wung
    Senior Planner
    (253) 591-5682