• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma OpenData

Sustainable Tacoma Commission


The Sustainable Tacoma Commission works with the Office of Sustainability, which is responsible for implementing the strategies in the 2030 Climate Action Plan and measuring the city’s progress as it reduces greenhouse gas emissions. Both the Office and the Commission were created by a City Council resolution in October 2008. 



The Sustainable Tacoma Commission consists of thirteen members who are appointed by the Mayor and City Council. Membership is a balanced representation of stakeholders, such as the environmental community, small business, labor, housing, port, transportation, education, building industry, and residents. 




Term Expiration

Matthew Benedict April 2025

Alexandra Brewer

April 2024
Michael Chang
April 2026

Evlondo Cooper

April 2025
John Doherty April 2025 
Sheena Hewett April 2026
Tony Ivey
April 2024
Adam Reichenberger
April 2024

Margaret Schwertner

April 2024
Laura Svancarek
April 2026
Casey Twiggs April 2026
Lowell Wyse April 2026



Duties and Responsibilities

The purpose of the Sustainable Tacoma Commission is to bring community accountability, transparency, and vigilance to the long-term implementation of Tacoma’s 2030 Climate Action Plan, and to oversee, coordinate, communicate, and encourage public involvement regarding sustainability initiatives as are consistent with the City’s vision and definition of sustainability.


Commission Expectations and Guidelines


Staff Support

Staffing support to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission is provided by the City's Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability


Time and Day

5:00 PM
Third Thursday of the month



Tacoma Municipal Building

Room 248

747 Market Street
Tacoma, WA 98402


Additional Information

Staff Liaison

Kristin Lynett

(253) 592-4788



Meeting Information

Meetings are being conducted virtually and are open to the public.


Join by Zoom

Password: 253253


Join by phone: +1 (253) 215-8782

Meeting ID: 843-2808-3947