• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Planning Commission

A Note about COVID-19 

Due to COVID-19 related impacts, a number of employees are in furlough or temporary layoff status. For help reaching a specific City employee, dial 311 from within Tacoma city limits or (253) 591-5000 from anywhere else. However, if you have specific questions about during this period, please reach out to the Planning Division Manager, Brian Boudet, at bboudet@cityoftacoma.org.




The Planning Commission is a citizen's group established by City Charter Section 3.8 to advise the City Council on a broad range of planning issues to ensure that all plans, goals, policies, and development regulations are promoting orderly and coordinated growth and development within the city.


Duties and Responsibilities

Pursuant to Tacoma Municipal Code Chapter 13.02, the Planning Commission:
  • Develops and updates the Comprehensive Plan and its elements
  • Formulates effective and efficient land use and development regulations and processes that implement the Comprehensive Plan
  • Reviews various planning issues, such as area-wide rezones, temporary zoning measures (such as a moratorium or interim regulations), annexation, historic district designation, urban design, and transportation and capital facilities programs


The Planning Commission has nine members, who shall be residents of the City of Tacoma and be appointed and confirmed by the City Council for terms of three years each. One member shall be appointed by the Council for each of the five council districts. The Council shall appoint to the four remaining positions an individual from each of the following: (a) the development community; (b) the environmental community; (c) public transportation; and (d) a designee with background of involvement in architecture, historic preservation, and/or urban design. Planning Commission members serve without pay.


Current Membership

  • Council District 1 - Andrew Strobel
  • Council District 2 - Carolyn Edmonds 
  • Council District 3 - Brett Santhuff
  • Council District 4 - Alyssa Torrez 
  • Council District 5 - David Horne
  • Development Community - Jeff McInnis (Vice-Chair)   
  • Environmental Community - Anna Petersen (Chair)
  • Public Transportation - Christopher Karnes 
  • Architecture, Historic Preservation and/or Urban Design - Ryan Givens 


Additional Information


Planning Commission Interview, TV Tacoma's CityLine (February 7, 2019) 

             (Click on the image to watch the video; 12 min.)

  • About the Planning Commission (Information Sheet) 
  • Planning Commission Rules and Regulations (Bylaws)
  • Planning Commission Annual Report 2018-2019 and Work Program 2019-2021
  • We All Make One Tacoma - Long Range Planning News and Update (February 2020)

    Staff Support

    Staffing support to the Planning Commission is provided by the Planning Services Division of the Planning and Development Services Department

    Time and Day

    5 PM
    First and third Wednesday of each month



    Council Chambers

    Tacoma Municipal Bldg.

    747 Market Street

    Tacoma, WA 98402


    Staff Liaison 

    Lihuang Wung
    Senior Planner
    (253) 591-5682