• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Human Rights Commission


The Human Rights Commission was created by the Tacoma City Council to study and investigate problems of prejudice, bigotry, and discrimination and to encourage and coordinate the implementation of programs consistent with the needs and the rights of all residents of the City of Tacoma. 



The Human Rights Commission consists of 15 members who are nominated by the Mayor and appointed by a majority vote of City Council. The membership term is three years and is composed of representatives of the general public and the employer, labor, religious, racial, ethnic, disabled, and women's groups in the city.


Duties and Responsibilities

The Commission studies, investigates and mediates community issues that may result from discrimination on the basis of race, religion, color, national origin or ancestry, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, marital status, familial status, honorably discharged veteran or military status, or disability.

Commission Members


Name Position

Michealea Lemons

Melvin Nobles, Jr. 1st Vice Chair

Andre´ Jimenez

2nd Vice Chair
Keshreeyaji R. Oswal Member
Amanda Westbrooke Member
Anita Snyder Member
Verda Washington Member
Mason Culbertson Member
Ronita Boullt Member
C. Ivan Johnson Member
Taniesha Lyons Member
Norman Brickhouse Member
Courtney Acoff Member
Laurie Lynch Member
Andreta Armstong Staff and Liaison
Lisa Woods OEHR Director and Sponsor


Staff Support

Staffing support to the Human Rights Commission is provided by the Office of Equity and Human Rights.

Business Meeting Agendas and Minutes
Commission Application
Volunteer for Membership on the Commission


Time and Day

5:30 PM
Third Thursday of the Month



Room 243
Tacoma Municipal Building
747 Market Street
Tacoma, WA 98402


Additional Information
Email Nancy Shattuck

Staff Liaison

General Information

(253) 591-5045