• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Commission on Immigrant and Refugees Affairs



On December 12, 2017, The City of Tacoma passed Resolution 39892 to support the creation of the Commission on Immigrant and Refugee Affairs. The purpose of the Commission is to better engage Tacoma’s immigrant and refugee communities and to work with community partners to identify and advance positive outcomes for specifically impacting the immigrant and refugee communities in the City of Tacoma.



The Commission on Immigrant and Refugee Affairs consists of 11 members (to include one youth or young adult under the age of 25) and one alternate who are nominated and appointed by a majority vote of City Council.

Current Commissioners:


Alicia Sands

Andy Mejia

Emmanuella Shasha

Eunice Kalembo

Hugo Nicolas

Iuliia Didkivska

Linus Nyaga

Lydia Zepeda

Maricres Valdez Castro

Maurice Lekea

Natalie Ghayoumi

Nixon Tenga

Samantha Le

Thierry Ruboneka



Organizational Documents

    Welcoming Cities - Resolution 39116 (Spanish Version)

    Immigrant and Refugee Task Force - Resolution 39642 (Spanish Version)

    Commission on Immigrant and Refugee Affairs - Resolution 39892 (Spanish Version)


 CIRA Commissioners celebrating Tacoma's 2019 Welcoming Week. Left to right: Saiyare Refaei, Alma Vargas, Jason Gamboa, Perla Gamboa, and Jefferson Mok.

2019 CIRA Commissioners celebrating Tacoma's Welcoming Week.

Left to right: Saiyare Refaei, Alma Vargas, Jason Gamboa, Perla Gamboa and

Jefferson Mok.


Staff Support

Staffing support to the Commission on Immigrants and Refugees Affairs is provided by the Office of Equity and Human Rights.


Time and Day

5:30 PM
Fourth Monday of the month



Tacoma Municipal Building

Room 248

747 Market Street

Tacoma, WA

(Commission is currently meeting

virtually. Please email if you would 

like an invite to an

upcoming meeting).


Additional Information

Staff Liaison
Raeshawna Ware
(253) 591-5137


747 Market Street

Room 1044
Tacoma, WA 98402

Commission Application