• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Sustainable Tacoma Commission


The Sustainable Tacoma Commission works with the Office of Sustainability, which is responsible for implementing the strategies in the Climate Action Plan and measuring the city’s progress as it reduces greenhouse gas emissions. Both the Office and the Commission were created by a City Council resolution in October 2008. 



The Sustainable Tacoma Commission consists of eleven members who are appointed by the Mayor and City Council. Membership is a balanced representation of stakeholders, such as the environmental community, small business, labor, housing, industry and port, transportation, education, building industry, and residents. 



Term Expiration

Philip Coughlan

April 2018

Josh Jorgensen

April 2019

Alexandra Brewer

April 2018

Sarah Chessman

April 2017

Christine Cooley

April 2017

Lowell Wyse

April 2019

Peter Hickman

April 2018

Alison Baur

April 2019

Alyssa Illich

April 2019

Theda Braddock

April 2019


April 2018


Duties and Responsibilities

The purpose of the Sustainable Tacoma Commission is to bring citizen accountability, transparency, and vigilance to the long-term implementation of Tacoma’s Environmental Action Plan, and to oversee, coordinate, communicate, and encourage public involvement regarding sustainability initiatives as are consistent with the City’s vision and definition of sustainability.


Commission Expectations and Guidelines


Staff Support

Staffing support to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission is provided by the City's Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability

Time and Day

3:30 PM
Second Tuesday of the month



Ninth Floor Visibility Center
Tacoma Municipal Building
747 Market Street
Tacoma, WA 98402


Additional Information

Staff Liaison
Kristi Lynett
General Information
(253) 591-5571