• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Tacoma Minimum Wage Task Force

Establishment and Purpose

The Minimum Task Force was established in May 2015 through Resolution 39187 to review and discuss minimum wage alternatives in Tacoma, including alternatives to the 15 Now Initiative, and provide recommendations to the City Council.


Resolution 39194 increased the Task Force membership to consist of 15 members and two alternates. The membership of the Minimum Wage Task Force consisted of City Council nominees, intended to be geographically and culturally diverse to represent the entire Tacoma community, six members representing business and citizen groups, and two alternates.


The Task Force's final report was presented to the City Council on July 7, 2015 and accepted as received in Resolution 39231.


Task Force Members

Reggie Frederick, Owner, Chalet Bowl

Brenda Wiest, Legal Affairs Coordinator, Teamsters 117

Dennis Farrow, Owner, Advanced Technology Construction, Military Veteran

Kelly Chambers, Owner, Visiting Angels (In-home CareService)

Sarah Cherin, Political and Public Policy Director, UFCW 21

Eric Hahn, Vice President, General Plastics, WorkforceCentral Board Member

David Strong, Executive Director, Aids Housing Association of Tacoma and

Pastor, Spirit of Christ Community Church

Pastor Gregory Christopher, Shiloh Baptist Church, Ministerial Alliance, NAACP, 15Now

Dr. Ali Modarres, Director of Urban Studies, UW Tacoma

Liz Dunbar, Executive Director, Tacoma Community House

Michelle Douglas, Executive Director, Rainbow Center and Former Owner of Tempest Lounge

Odette D'Aniello, Owner, Celebrity Cake Studio

Abranna Romero Rocha, Lincoln High School Student

Jason Kinlow, Owner, A Taste of Philly

Elizabeth Lewis, Minimum Wage Worker, 15Now

Alternate Members

Robert Taylor, Member Field Director, SEIU1199NW

Russ Heaton, Owner, Doyle’s Public House

Staff Support

Andy Cherullo, Finance Director
Susan Ramirez, Assistant Finance Director
Martha Anderson, Assistant Community and Economic Development Director
Elizabeth Pauli, City Attorney
Tadd Wille, Budget Officer
Jared Eyer, Management and Budget Office
Christina Watts, Management and Budget Office


Resolution No. 39187
Resolution No. 39192
Resolution No. 39194
Resolution No. 39231


Additional Information

Christina Watts
Office of Management and Budget
(253) 591-5861


Task Force Documents and Meeting Materials