

CITY OF TACOMA COMMITTEES . BOARDS . COMMISSIONS

TACOMA AREA COMMISSION ON DISABILITIES AGENDA

FRIDAY, JULY 9, 2021 – 4:00-6:00 PM

Remote Online Meeting Via Zoom

WELCOME

4:04 Ice Breaker – "Who was, or is, your mentor?" 4:12 Adoption of Agenda/Additions/New Business 4:16 Acceptance of the Minutes from June 2021 4:20 Public Comment	
4:16 Acceptance of the Minutes from June 2021 4:20 Public Comment	
4:20 Public Comment	
4:25 Update from Liz Caster, Public Works and Brandon Cheung, Electric Scooter Access and Safety in Tacoma	Razor, or

- 4:45 Input/Questions from Commissioners
- 5:00 Introduction of new OEHR Staff Member/ Peace and Reconciliation Specialist, Dr. Eric Jackson
 - 5:25 Chair Report and Vice Chair Report
 - Krystal Monteros, Chair
 - Luke Byram, Vice Chair

COD Members: Todd Holloway, Chair; Krystal Monteros Vice Chair, Luke Byram, Anthony Caldwell, Rebecca Parson, James Williams, Dylan O'Catherine, Lukas Barfield, Amin Tony Hester, Richard Smaby, Aimee Sidhu and Kristy Willet

City of Tacoma • Committees, Boards and Commissions cityoftacoma.org/cbc • 747 Market Street, 12th Floor • Tacoma, WA 98402-3701

The views and opinions expressed herein do not reflect the official position of the City of Tacoma or City Council, and shall not be used to endorse a candidate for office or ballot measure.





CITY OF TACOMA COMMITTEES . BOARDS . COMMISSIONS

5:35 Liaison Report - Office of Equity & Human Rights - Lucas Smiraldo

- 1. City of Destiny Award Report from the Event:
 - Anthony Caldwell, The Lori Allison Individual Advocate Award
 - Toni Amin Hester, The Disability Professional Development Award
 - Dylan O'Catherine, Youth Advocate Award
- 2. Tacoma Police Advisory Sub Group Update and Inclusion of Dr. Jackson
- 3. Accessible Taxi—Cindi Laws is active. Meet with commissioners in August?
- 4. Commissioners Reapplication Process—Interviews scheduled for August 12^{th} for all candidates
- 5. Public Works Public Event Update
- 6. COT and TSD Advisory Group Next Steps
- 5:35 Julian Wheeler—Report from Pierce County
- 5:40 Ivan Tudela—Access and Functional Needs Pierce County

5:45 PM COMMITTEE REPORTS—CURRENTLY ACTIVE COMMITTEES

- Accessible Taxi—Rebecca Parson, Lukas Barfield, Krystal Monteros, Todd Holloway—(Report Integrated Into Liaison Report Above)
- **Public Works**—Advisory Meeting Report—Tony Caldwell and other members including Richard Smaby, Krystal Monteros and Luke Byram. (*Report Integrated Into Liaison Report Above*)
- Tacoma Police Advisory Subcommittee (Report Integrated Into Liaison Report Above)
- TACOD/Tacoma Public Schools Joint Subcommittee (Report Integrated Into Liaison Report Above)

COD Members: Todd Holloway, Chair; Krystal Monteros Vice Chair, Luke Byram, Anthony Caldwell, Rebecca Parson, James Williams, Dylan O'Catherine, Lukas Barfield, Amin Tony Hester, Richard Smaby, Aimee Sidhu and Kristy Willet

City of Tacoma • Committees, Boards and Commissions cityoftacoma.org/cbc • 747 Market Street, 12th Floor • Tacoma, WA 98402-3701

The views and opinions expressed herein do not reflect the official position of the City of Tacoma or City Council, and shall not be used to endorse a candidate for office or ballot measure.





CITY OF TACOMA COMMITTEES • BOARDS • COMMISSIONS

Sub Committees:

City-Led Project Liaisons	Commission Projects
Emergency Mgmt – Todd Holloway with Ute Weber	Accessible Taxi – Rebecca Parson, Krystal
	Monteros, Lukas Barfield and Todd Holloway
Public Works – Tony Caldwell, Richard Smaby and	Effective Communication: Tony Caldwell, Luke
Krystal Monteros, with staff Gail Hines	Byram and Todd Holloway
Employment – Dylan O'Catherine and Luke Byram	Tacoma/TACOD Police Advisory, Byram Chair,
	Hester, Monteros, Smaby, Sidhu, Williams
IT/Website – Lukas Barfield, and Luke Byram	Tacoma/TPS Joint Committee, O'Catherine, Chair
City Events Commission/CEC – Krystal Monteros	Committees
and Luke Byram	Education and Access Subcommittee will soon
	form
Anti-Stigma Campaign –	Closed Captioning in Public Establishments –
James Williams, Krystal Monteros, Dylan	Todd Holloway, Luke Byram, Dylan O'Catherine,
O'Catherine	Krystal Monteros

5:50 Invitation for community input

5:55 New Business or Good of the Order

6:00 Meeting Adjourned

COD Members: Todd Holloway, Chair; Krystal Monteros Vice Chair, Luke Byram, Anthony Caldwell, Rebecca Parson, James Williams, Dylan O'Catherine, Lukas Barfield, Amin Tony Hester, Richard Smaby, Aimee Sidhu and Kristy Willet

City of Tacoma • Committees, Boards and Commissions cityoftacoma.org/cbc • 747 Market Street, 12th Floor • Tacoma, WA 98402-3701

The views and opinions expressed herein do not reflect the official position of the City of Tacoma or City Council, and shall not be used to endorse a candidate for office or ballot measure.

