• City of Tacoma QA
  • City of Tacoma Data

Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is a citizen's group established by City Charter Section 3.8 to advise the City Council on a broad range of planning issues to ensure that all plans, goals, policies, and development regulations are promoting orderly and coordinated growth and development within the city.


Duties and Responsibilities

Pursuant to Tacoma Municipal Code Chapter 13.02, the Planning Commission:
  • Develops and updates the Comprehensive Plan and its elements
  • Formulates effective and efficient land use and development regulations and processes that implement the Comprehensive Plan
  • Reviews various planning issues, such as area-wide rezones, temporary zoning measures (such as a moratorium or interim regulations), annexation, historic district designation, urban design, and transportation and capital facilities programs


The Planning Commission consists of nine members appointed by the City Council for a three-year term.  Members shall be residents of Tacoma, five of them representing the five respective Council districts and the other four representing the following focus areas: (a) the development community; (b) the environmental community; (c) public transportation; and (d) a background of and involvement in architecture, historic preservation and/or urban design.



Current Membership

  • District 1 - Scott Winship
  • District 2 - Dorian Waller 
  • District 3 - Brett Santhuff
  • District 4 - Stephen Wamback (Vice-Chair) 
  • District 5 - Chris Beale (Chair)
  • Development - Jeff McInnis
  • Environmental - Anna Petersen
  • Transportation - Meredith Neal 
  • Architecture, Historic Preservation and/or Urban Design - Jeremy Woolley 


Additional Information

  • Planning Commission Information Sheet 
  • Planning Commission Rules and Regulations (Bylaws)
  • Planning Commission Annual Report for 2015-2016 
  • Planning Work Program for 2016-2018  

    Staff Support

    Staffing support to the Planning Commission is provided by the Planning Services Division of the Planning and Development Services Department

    Time and Day

    4 PM
    First and third Wednesday of each month



    Tacoma Municipal Building North
    Room 16
    733 Market Street
    Tacoma, WA 98402

    All meetings are open to the public.


    Additional Information
    Staff Liaison
    Lihuang Wung
    Senior Planner
    (253) 591-5682