Sustainable Tacoma Commission


The purpose of the Sustainable Tacoma Commission is to bring citizen accountability, transparency, and vigilance to the long-term implementation of Tacoma's Climate Action Plan, and to oversee, coordinate, communicate, and encourage public involvement regarding sustainability initiatives as are consistent with the City's vision and definition of sustainability.

The Commission provides citizen oversight of the Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability and makes recommendations to City Council regarding the City's ongoing sustainability efforts.

2015 Sustainable Tacoma Commission Workplan Summary


The 11-member commission is intended to have a balanced representation of various stakeholders, including the environmental community, small business, labor, housing, industry and port, transportation, education, the building industry and residents.

Commission members serve staggered three-year terms.  The table below displays the current membership of the Commission.  Terms expire in April of the years indicated.


 Name Term Expiration 

Ken Campbell


Sarah Chessman 2017

Christine Cooley


Phil Coughlan


Nick Cutting


Felicity Devlin


Karen Hamilton


Alyssa Illich


Ellen Moore 2017

Agnes Pate


Holly Williams


Commission Roles

  • Request research and analysis on sustainability issues from sustainability staff.
  • Provide policy, program, and budget recommendations both written and verbal to City Council, through Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee, and other relevant Commissions.
  • Request updates from staff on implementation of City sustainability policies, programs, and results.
  • Communicate barriers and incentives for implementation to City Council.
  • Provide annual progress reports to the public.
  • Oversee, coordinate, communicate, and encourage public involvement regarding sustainability initiatives.
  • Create a forum for regular public comment and community involvement.
  • Develop an annual work plan identifying Commission goals. Items requiring sustainability staff support will be identified and prioritized.

Staff Support

Staffing support to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission is provided by the City's Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability.


The Sustainable Tacoma Commission on Climate Change and the Office of Sustainability were created by Resolution 37631, adopted by the Tacoma City Council on October 31, 2008.  The Commission's scope was expanded in 2011 through Resolution 38247to include sustainability in its broadest sense.
Time and Day
3:30 PM to 5:30 PM
Second Tuesday of each month
Tacoma Municipal Building North
733 Market Street
Room 16
Tacoma, WA 98402

All meetings are open to the public.
Additional Information
Sign up for the listserve